Are you the one?

The acorn scholarship is aimed at helping people in hospitality to realise their dreams. Enter today and tell us about yours.

24 October 2016

Charlotte Horler wins 2016 Acorn Scholarship

Charlotte Horler, operations manager at the Hotel Collection at Billesley Manor hotel in Warwickshire, was named the 2016 Acorn Scholar in November 2015.

Horler, became the 14th Acorn Scholar, and impressed a judging panel including Jo Harley, director of Purple Cubed; Sean Wheeler, director of people development, Starwood Capital – City Hotel Division; Leon Mills, Knorr marketing manager, Unilever Food Solutions UK & Ireland; and Amanda Afiya, editor, The Caterer.

The judges heard the 25-year-old talk about motivation, choosing your attitude and always starting your day with a glass half full attitude.

Horler was a unanimous choice by the judges and delivered a confident presentation. Her ultimate goal is to become a general manager before the age of 30, and she impressed the judges with her career achievements to date.

Charlotte Gibson, director of learning & talent at the Dorchester Collection and Acorn Scholarship judge and sponsor, commented: “Charlotte promised to deliver passion, drive and hard work as an Acorn Scholar and she totally sold us in with her commitment to the industry”.

William Baxter, chairman of Hospitality Action and long-standing judge of the scholarship, added: “She blew us all away – she showed real initiative preparing for her opportunity to present to the judges this year. Her presentation was creative and she will be a fantastic ambassador and role model.”

Horler receives a prize valued at more than £7,000, including a £2,000 bursary for professional development, coaching sessions with Purple Cubed, a trip to Villeroy & Boch in Luxembourg and a designated mentor from the Acorn Scholarship team to guide her through the year as a scholar.

The Acorn Scholarship is a self-nominated award and is open to individuals who are UK residents and able to work in the UK without restriction.

Previous winners include Daniel McLoughlin of Ego Restaurants; Simon Houston of Bartlett Mitchell; and John Price, owner of the Ginger Pub Company and the first Acorn Scholar. Sponsors included Villeroy & Boch, Unilever Food Solutions and the Dorchester Collection.

For more information on the Acorn Scholarship and to read blogs from previous winners

Acorn Scholarship 2016 finalists announced >>

Daniel McLoughlin wins 2015 Acorn Scholarship >>